Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

I'm a 5 Star Writer; how much should I charge? Options
Will-72704
Posted: Monday, October 3, 2016 7:02:04 PM

Groups: Member

My current standard rate is 3 cents per word and this is the absolute minimum I can comfortably write for; it is certainly is not very motivating. As a 5 star writer, I believe I should earn more than this. What is a reasonable rate to charge per word for non-technical writing topics?
Matthew-72721
Posted: Friday, October 7, 2016 4:01:15 PM

Right now, I am charging $0.05/word for articles. I am going to bump it up to the $0.07-0.10/word range on Saturday. I'm mainly focused on Financial Technology and B2B Marketing, so I feel pretty comfortable charging more. From what I have seen, most of the non-technical topics are paying around 0.05/word on the open board. If you are looking to move it up, I would start there and see how it goes. If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

—Matthew
Will-72704
Posted: Friday, October 7, 2016 5:17:05 PM

This site is actually my first foray into non-technical writing; I am used to writing for around 10 cents per word. Maybe I'll change my expertise categories to things like science and medicine and get out of this 1.8 - 3.5 cent per word mire. 
Matthew-72721
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2016 8:43:30 PM

Will-72704 wrote:
This site is actually my first foray into non-technical writing; I am used to writing for around 10 cents per word. Maybe I'll change my expertise categories to things like science and medicine and get out of this 1.8 - 3.5 cent per word mire. 

Most of my categories are Finance, Technology, and automotive at the moment. I haven't decided whether I want to narrow or expand my scope just yet. I hope you find success! (most of the 5* jobs in finance seem to average 4.9-7 cents/word)
Tami-25632
Posted: Wednesday, October 12, 2016 11:56:00 AM