Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

In A Slump Options
Brian-24725
Posted: Saturday, March 4, 2017 11:57:30 PM

Groups: Member

I have always enjoyed being a copywriter. Mostly, it was my dream in high school to get a degree in journalism and write for my local paper. Unfortunately, that dream didn't pan out for a variety of reasons. However, my passion for writing never subsided. Over the years I have written blogs, self published a few novels and I write for Zerys. In terms of being a professional writer, I am a bottom feeder. However, every time I collect a meager amount of pay for my work, its almost like I am living my dream. With that said, I feel like I have lost my way.

I work long hours at my day job. I am also a husband and father, so family life can be demanding and time consuming at times too. Still, most of the time, I fit in time to write. Lately though, it has not been panning out. I have accepted a few articles as of late, and due to my schedule, I find myself missing deadlines or phoning in my work. The last two articles I have written were declined. It has been months since I have worked on my latest novel. I have hit a wall, and I don't know what to do.

Surely some of you have gone through this before. What did you do to get that initial spark back? 
Deb-Admin
Posted: Monday, March 6, 2017 10:45:40 AM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Hi Brian,

I think every writer can relate to this at one time or another, including me. When I hit a roadblock, I like to just start writing. Write anything. Take a job that you feel you can do, or if you aren't seeing any jobs right then, write in a journal or write some of your novel.

Sometimes, just the action of writing can start to spark ideas. You might not use what you initially write, but it still helps you get in that writing mode, so when the next job comes along it is a bit easier.